In The News

Beef advocate Sherri Grant honoured by BMO Celebrating Women in Agriculture program

BMO and Canadian Western Agribition (CWA) are pleased to announce Sherri Grant as the BMO Celebrating Women in Agriculture honouree. The program recognizes the outstanding achievement of women in the agriculture industry from across Canada. The presentation was made last night at the Premier’s Reception at the Saskatchewan Legislature during CWA, one of Canada’s largest agricultural events.

Grant and her husband operate Grant Ranch near Val Marie. She’s passionate about consumer advocacy and agriculture education, so much so that she co-wrote a children’s book called “Where Beef Comes From” and developed the website to provide accurate resource materials for those removed from how beef is produced. Grant shares stories and photos about agriculture on the Grant Ranch blog and social media. She is also a dedicated conservationist and uses these education platforms to bring awareness to grasslands preservation and species at risk.

“I feel so honoured. There are so many women in agriculture who are contributing and who are just as deserving,” says Grant. “I think it is so incredibly important for everyone to understand more about where their food comes – this is key to the future of our industry. It’s especially rewarding to offer this experience to students and see their eyes light up.”

2018 Farm & Food Care  Champion Award Sherri Grant

Recognizing Agriculture Supporters in Saskatchewan

“Champion” – a person, or persons, who work to promote Saskatchewan agriculture and help farmers build public trust.

The “Food & Farming Champion” Award is presented to an individual who has taken the initiative to help engage or educate consumers about agriculture in our province. Nominees have used their skills to help inform consumers or correct misinformation about production practices, and done a measurable job of promoting our industry. The selection committee will choose a winner from the nominations and the award recipient will be honoured at the Annual Conference each year. Special consideration will be taken for organizations and businesses who are nominated and meet the criteria. The judging panel may elect to award both an individual and an organization/business in the same year.

A blogging Adventure, in the CCA Action News (September 2016)

Prairie Wind & Silver Sage – Sherri’s Night Sky Art Exhibit (Summer 2016)

Trevor Herriot’s Grass Notes – June 2015

Val Marie District Ambulance – Retirement Party (March 2015)

2012 Saskatchewan Livestock Association, Scroll of Honour